Lieutenant General Hans H. “Whitey” Driessnack


Lieutenant General Hans H. “Whitey” Driessnack was assistant vice chief of staff,
Headquarters U.S. Air Force, Washington, D.C. He also served as senior Air Force
representative, U.S. Delegation to the Military Staff! Committee, United Nations.
Gen. Driessnack started his career by serving a year in the Navy before entering
Syracuse University. Commissioned into the Air Force, he became a fighter pilot and
flight commander during the Korean War, flying 25 combat missions. He worked at the
Headquarters Systems Command at Andrews Air Force Base and worked his way up to
become comptroller of the Air Force in 1978. He was named assistant vice chief of sta! in
1981 and also served as the senior Air Force representative to the United Nations.

In July 1963 General Driessnack transferred to Headquarters Air Force Systems
Command, Andrews Air Force Base, and was assigned to the Office of the Deputy Chief
of Staff, Comptroller, as a research and development officer in the Management Systems
Development Division. From May 1964 to June 1968, he was a management system
specialist in the Office of the Assistant Secretary of the Air Force (Financial Management).
He then returned to Air Force Systems Command headquarters as chief, Cost Information
and Management System Division, in the Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff, Comptroller.

Although demonstrating a life-long commitment to learning and increasing responsibility
and leadership, it was in the 1970s in particular that “Whitey” Driessnack had the
opportunity to build on the seminal EVM work pioneered by A Ernest “Ernie” Fitzgerald.
Until then the use of PERT/Cost was predominant in government project control, involving
a continually revised Estimate to Complete (ETC) that was proving unreliable. “Whitey”,
initially an advocate of PERT/Cost, was introduced to an alternate concept created to
redress the unreliability of the ETC, called Earned Value. This was embodied by Fitzgerald
into the original Airforce Cost/Schedule Planning and Control Specification (CSpec).
Driessnack went on to champion this into becoming adopted by the US Department of
Defense in 1967 as the Cost/Schedule Control System Criteria (C/SCSC), the foundation
upon which Earned Value Management is based today.

General Driessnack’s accolades include:
• Graduated from Charles E. Gorton High School in 1945; and received a bachelor of science
degree in civil engineering from Syracuse (N.Y.) University in 1951;
• Received a master’s degree in business administration from the Air Force Institute of
Technology, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio, in 1959; graduated from Squadron
Officer School in 1956; graduated from Air Command and Staff College in 1963; graduated
from the Naval War College, Newport, R.I., in 1970; and graduated from the advanced
management program of the Harvard Graduate School of Business Administration in 1971;
• Promoted to lieutenant general Aug. 22, 1978, with same date of rank;
• Military decorations and awards include the Distinguished Service Medal, Legion of Merit with two oak leaf clusters, Meritorious Service Medal, Air Medal with oak leaf cluster, Air
Force Commendation Medal with two oak leaf clusters, Presidential Unit Citation emblem,
Air Force Outstanding Unit Award ribbon, Air Force Organizational Excellence Award
ribbon and the Republic of Korea Presidential Unit Citation emblem.

After his military retirement, he worked for six years for a defense contractor, United
Technologies, and then retired a second time in 1989. Even then his commitment to his
community continued with his involvement in building an Air Force retirement community
(Falcons Landing) in the Washington DC area. He formed the Air Force retired officers
community board and served as its chairman.
He was considered a leader in project management, so much so that shortly after his second
retirement the College of Performance Management named its highest award in his honor.


Awarded to individuals who have made major contributions
to project performance management policy, concepts, and
practices, which have national and international
implications. This recognition is awarded to individuals who
have provided critical contributions to the evolution of
Earned Value Management and project planning and control
standards, research, and education, and have promoted the
exchange of theory, development, and application among
project management professionals.

This year’s Lt Gen Driessnack Distinguished Service Award is awarded to

Susan Wood

Susan Wood is a Past President, Executive Vice President and Vice President for Conferences and Events for the College of Performance Management (CPM).  She served as the first President of the newly formed CPM after we came out of our agreement with PMI.  Susan also served as the PMI EVM CoP Council Manager.  She was the North American PMI-CPM liaison to the Asia Pacific 2006 Symposium.  Susan was also the Program Manager for the annual PMI-CPM International Conferences.  She has also served as Program Manager of a number of the International Integrated Program Management Conferences (IPMCs) co-sponsored by PMI-CPM, National Defense Industrial Association, and the Society of Cost Estimating and Analysis (US) and Co-Chair of the 1 to 3rd PMI-CPM EVM Japan Conferences.   

Susan is a senior partner at Earned Value Associates, LLC specializing in all aspects of EVM.  Susan retired in 2004 as the EVM Focal Point for the Air Armament Center (AAC) at Eglin Air Force Base, Florida, responsible for EVM policy, guidance and implementation support across all AAC programs.  As a member of the Air Force (AF) Earned Value (EV) Integrated Product Team, Susan contributed to AF EV policy and implementation guidance.  She has led and served on contractor and government EVM System Review teams and has developed and provided EVM training to government and contractor personnel for over 30 years.  Susan has over 35 year’s government and contractor acquisition experience.

Congratulations Susan!

To learn more about Susan Wood, click HERE to read her biography. 

Connect with Susan through:

If you have read any Earned Value literature you will recognize the recipients of this award as a
pantheon of the champions of Earned Value Management and Project Controls leadership:

  • 2021 – Eleanor Haupt
  • 2009 – Tony Finefield
  • 2006 – David Muzio
  • 2004 – David Christensen
  • 2003 – Robert Pattie
  • 1997 – Gary Humphreys
  • 1996 – Larry Stone
  • 1996 – Wayne Abba
  • 1995 – Quentin Fleming
  • 1994 – Gary Christle
  • 1992 – Robert R. Kemps

Follow our updates on: